Wireless Laptop to Wireless Laptop Real World Throughput Benchmarks

Monday, June 22, 2015

More and more devices are becoming wireless. It isn’t unheard of for one person to be carrying three or more wireless devices on them at one time: a phone, a tablet, a laptop, and, more recently, a watch.

There are plenty of benchmarks and articles detailing the throughput achieved from a wireless device to a wired device - with a wireless router in the middle of course. This is useful to know if you’re transferring or streaming data from your laptop, phone, or tablet to a device connected via ethernet. However, most people forgo connecting anything via ethernet because connecting wirelessly is just too easy. I am much more interested in the throughput achieved from one wirelessly connected device to another wirelessly connected device.

Continue reading...


Doxie's Fanatical Support

Sunday, June 21, 2015

I work for Rackspace, home of Fanatical Support. What is Fanatical Support? Fanatical Support is multifaceted, but one part of it is going above and beyond the call of duty for the customer.

Few companies provide true Fanatical Support. Doxie is one of the companies that does.

Continue reading...


A Quick Force Touch Trackpad Review

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Force Touch was first revealed in the Apple Watch and now has made its way to Apple’s trackpads. I went to an Apple Store to try out Force Touch on the updated 13” retina MacBook Pro.

Continue reading...


The Speculation Awakens

Friday, November 28, 2014

It has been well over 10 years since anybody has had new, official Star Wars canon to sink their teeth into. But, that wait is over. Just over two years after Episodes VII, VIII, and IX were announced, J.J. Abrams has given every Star Wars fan at least one thing to be thankful for this holiday season. If you haven’t already watched it - I don’t know why you wouldn’t have - go watch the teaser trailer for Star Wars The Force Awakens.

Continue reading...


The Best and Only iPhone Case I Have Ever Bought

Sunday, March 23, 2014

I have used an iPhone ever since they were revealed to the world in 2007. Since then I have never used a case (or as I like to call it “rolling naked”).

Whether you agree or not, the iPhone (especially the 4 and 5) are fantastically designed devices and I never wanted a case to cover that up. In addition, I think most of the cases on the market are down right ugly or simply too big.

Continue reading...


The One Problem with the Noppoo Choc Mini 84 USB Mechanical Keyboard

Thursday, April 25, 2013

I had been wanting a mechanical keyboard for sometime. There are so many choices out there it is easy to get bogged down in details and acronyms, but I eventually picked up a Noppoo Choc Mini 84 USB Mechanical Keyboard with Cherry MX Blues (the Blue and Brown switches are out of stock but the Red and Black switches are available).

The Noppoo was fantastic until I figured out what it couldn’t do.

Continue reading...


Doxie Go and Doxie's Awesome Customer Support

Monday, April 15, 2013

After using a CanoScan LiDE90 for sometime, I wanted something more portable, capable of scanning legal sized documents, and more cross platform, so I picked up the Doxie Go.

Continue reading...


A Somewhat Review of Fedora 18 on a Dell XPS 13

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

This will not be much of a review because I do not actually own a Dell XPS 13, and I have only played with Fedora 18 on one from a Live USB image, but my short experience is worth mentioning.

Continue reading...


Three RFID Blocking Billfold Wallets

Monday, March 25, 2013

Most of the RFID blocking billfold wallets I have come across are not simple and look ridiculous. It’s difficult to find one that is functional and good looking.

The following three wallets I have owned and have found to be some of the better RFID blocking wallets out there.

Continue reading...